The Cocoa Development Unit was established by edict No 8 of 1979 and deemed effective as from 1st June 1976.  This was published in Oyo State of Nigeria Gazette No 32 volume 14 of August, 1979.  The Unit is a corporate body with succession and charged with the responsibility of general development and improvement of Cocoa as an important economic crop in the Sate.  The scope of activities of the Unit has been expanded to include to the development of other tree and horticulture crops such as oil palm, cashew. Coffee, kola, pawpaw, citrus, mango, guava, pineapple, avocado pear, vegetables, ornamentals, and establishment and maintenance of plantations of cocoa, cashew and oil palm.